What language was the Bible written in? What language did they speak?

Here's the answer:

The Bible was not written in English. Instead, it was written in three different languages—Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek.

The Old Testament was mostly written in Hebrew. This is because Jewish people who spoke this language wrote it. A few parts are written in Aramaic, a language that uses the same alphabet as Hebrew, but is slightly different. The main section that uses Aramaic is most of Daniel. This is because Daniel served in Babylon where people spoke Aramaic.

The New Testament was written in Greek, which was the common language of the time. Even though Jesus and His apostles mostly spoke Aramaic or Hebrew, Greek was the main language spoken by people across the Roman Empire. Because the New Testament was written in Greek, many people could read it.

Today the Bible is the most translated book in the world. Many people have worked hard to help translate the original languages into words that make sense in each language today. God wants you to read the Bible, believe its message, and live it out in your life.

Bible Truth

"...The commands the LORD gives are true. All of them are completely right" (Psalm 19:9).

"God has breathed life into all Scripture. It is useful for teaching us what is true. It is useful for correcting our mistakes. It is useful for making our lives whole again. It is useful for training us to do what is right" (2 Timothy 3:16).