Who were Jesus’ disciples?

Here's the answer:

When Jesus was on earth, He chose 12 very different men to follow Him and learn from Him.

Jesus’ 12 disciples followed Jesus everywhere He went, helping Him and learning from Him. After Jesus died on the cross and rose again and before He went back to heaven, He told His disciples to preach the good news to the whole world. He said, "You will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you. Then you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem. You will be my witnesses in all Judea and Samaria. And you will be my witnesses from one end of the earth to the other" (Acts 1:8).

Jesus called these 12 disciples from different places and at different times. And they all had different jobs they did before they followed Jesus—many of them were fishermen, and one was even a former tax collector. Here is a list of the original 12 disciples:

1. Simon Peter
2. Andrew
3. Bartholomew (also called Nathanael)
4. James son of Zebedee
5. James son of Alpheus
6. Judas Iscariot (he would later betray Jesus)
7. John
8. Jude (also called Thaddeus)
9. Matthew
10. Philip
11. Simon the Zealot
12. Thomas

Bible Truth

"One day Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee. There he saw two brothers. They were Simon Peter and his brother Andrew. They were throwing a net into the lake. They were fishermen. 'Come. Follow me,' Jesus said. 'I will make you fishers of people'" (Matthew 4:18–19).

"Jesus...saw a man named Matthew. He was sitting at the tax collector’s booth. 'Follow me,' Jesus told him. Matthew got up and followed him" (Matthew 9:9–13).